Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 21st, 2012

Summary Post

I am Vickie, I am kind of person that love the visual side of the world. I would like to use images, videos and body language to express my ideas and perspectives. Basically, I am studying film and TV in my second year. I do enjoy the progress of making films and working as a group. I definitely defined myself as a visual person. I would feel passion when I see something beautiful and stunning. I love taking photos and always take photos of something that never noticed by someone else, but it has another side of beauty. That’s why I can be cameraperson and cinematographer in our film project.

My ID mission is to create a platform and build up my professional reputation in filming and photography, then being known by the employers. Secondly, is to promote my documentary film for Chinese overseas student. Thirdly, is to accumulate some inspirations for my dreaming job-weeding photographer.

My hub is based on favours.me. This is a very nice site that I can put all my social networking sites here and attribute the works through favors. It gives me a strong fulfillment (I have been done so many works in here) and builds up my confidence to be a social media maker (keep going with my works). To be honest, when I open my hub, this is the whole world of my social circle not include the social sites in China. It gives me a strong sense of being professional.

My ID map is much more messy than showing in the diagram. Mostly, I am more using weibo (Chinese Twitter) for promoting my documentary, and then embed with my personal weibo and Chinese facebook. Pinterest, tumblr always feed my extend website for inspiration in wedding photography, and instagram is for my daily photography, as the way of accumulation, and also embed with some of social sites to share with my friends.

• Tumblr: it’s the place that I can follow the filmmakers, producers, photographer and all related to my professional field. And then I would comment or like their post. For most of time, they would not reply me back, which is a little bit disappointed, but sharing and liking their ideas that give me a creative and more innovative thinking.

• Weibo (Chinese Twitter): for quick texts, videos, images and audio. A significant tool for Chinese people to transit the news and advertise in terms of the big circle of the social networking net in China. This is the reason why I choose weibo to promote my documentary. There are so many Chinese students in here are using weibo, and updating their status very often. I am using this as a platform and trying to follow their status, and it helps me to understand their personality and daily life.

• Pinterest: for inspiration. Visual things make me excited. I can find so many images that I like, especially they have a lot of innovative and nice ideas for the wedding. This is also the way of embedding with my own extend website about the wedding photography.

• Linkedln: A professional site that build up your own profile.

• Instagram: easily upload my photos to share in a community. And then sharing with my friends in different social networking sites. A visual mind

What encourage me a lot is Mypool, I am kind of person only sharing my images, status and videos with the friends I know. When I upload some images in Pool, especially the one called “feeling be loved”, that surprised me a lot. I have never expected any comments or like from ABC pool editor and also they featured my image as their project. This is kind of encouragement that everything can be possible if we are involved in the community. Like the reading from week3, it demonstrates, “user-generated media (UGM) have become a social phenomenon. It assumes that the audiences consciously choose from the medium that could fulfill their needs and that they are able to recognize their reasons for making media choices.” I could fulfill my needs in the way of participating and producing.

This is the weibo (Chinese Twitter) that I have been used for advertising and expanding my documentary, I have been thinking for making a documentary for Chinese overseas student for a long time since I came to Melbourne, but never thought about how to make it possible. This course actually activates my mind and let me have an awareness of how to make it in reality. I start to set up a new page only for the concept of documentary. I want my username to be stood out that people would notice and start to follow me. My username in English means Vickie wants to make a documentary for you.

I will post the information in my doc weibo. However, I have no any fans in my website and the news have to expand out via people, so I start to follow a lot of people, basically, I have quite a lot of friends in my personal weibo, I would add them first, and ask them to expand the news to more people, and also post or retweet the status in my personal social networking sites. Then I will add some of people that I don’t even know but in Melbourne. I start to follow these people who have different ideas, mostly, I added the people who love the film. In this slide. There are kind of two different groups that I pay more attention to. In the left side, there are the directors in documentary, TV producer and master media student who studied in RMIT. There are all responding me back when I post the news, which really surprised me a lot. And we still are chatting with each other via the conversation box. For this master student, we have became friend and we talked a lot via texting message and he wants to help me with the camera and gave a lot of suggestion. Liu is the director who directed the USA overseas student documentary that well-known in USA. I retweet his documentary video and I am kindly happy that I don’t really respect his respond, but he gave the respond back and gradually we have some interaction in weibo and he is glad to help me if I have any questions. Sophy is the program producer from Hunan channel, which is the first place program in China. We are all from the same place and kind of easy to communicate. I talked to her that I have the idea of making a documentary and she thinks its is very good idea, and she said that if I make this doc, she probably would like to put it in the channel and watch by more people. This is kind of exciting and gives me more encouragement. In the right side, there are some unions in Melbourne. Like the media company, the well-known documentary, RMIT student union. Those are the union that most of Melbourne student would follow and keep the eye on about their posts. This is kind of hard to chat with them via conversation box, but I am trying to retweet them and also post with their name, they would notify in their page.

Read Full Post »